Science precinct

  • Science precinct: Science Teaching and Learning building

  • Science precinct: Chemical Sciences building detail

  • The Linnaeus building. Image credit: Dianna Snape

  • Science precinct: Chemical Sciences building interior

  • Science precinct: the UNA sculpture

Our new $240-million science precinct on the ANU campus has state-of-the-art biological and chemical research laboratories, as well as a teaching hub.

The Linnaeus building

The Linnaeus building, completed in 2011, houses state-of-the art laboratory facilities with associated office space.

The building was purpose built to support the full range of molecular and cell biology carried out in the School and accommodates the majority of staff and students in the School's Division of Biomedical Science and Biochemistry and Division of Plant Sciences.

The Linnaeus building houses a wide range of general and specialist research equipment, a large area dedicated to plant growth facilities, and cell culture laboratories that support work in parasitology, virology, immunology and cancer biology.

The Science Teaching and Learning building

The Sciences Teaching Building includes eight teaching wet laboratories for undergraduate and course work students across the Bioscience and Chemistry disciplines, as well 150-seat and 50-seat flexible learning spaces, several outdoor teaching areas and smaller group rooms.

These teaching laboratories have been designed to allow students to develop the skill sets required to conduct higher level research and or work within research and development laboratories of various important industries including pharmacology and the minerals sector.

Other teaching and learning spaces include analytical and instrument laboratories and associated preparation areas.

The Chemical Sciences building

The building is in the heart of the new ANU Science Precinct, bringing together researchers and students from multiple disciplines and driving collaboration between different fields of science.

Construction of the building started in 2009, and culminated in a Public Architecture Award from the ACT Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects.

Belongs to

Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science
Fenner School of Environment & Society
Mathematical Sciences Institute
Research School of Astronomy & Astrophysics
Research School of Biology
Research School of Chemistry
Research School of Earth Sciences
Research School of Physics