Unlocking the secrets within using light—from wine to embryos

Date & time: 3.30am 6 April 2016, AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
Location: The Shine Dome, 15 Gordon Street Australian Capital Territory - See more at: https://www.science.org.au/news-and-events/events/public-speaker-series/...">https://www.science.org.au/news-and-events/events/public-speaker-series/...
Speakers: Professor Tanya Monro

Hosted by the Australian Academy of Science

About the talk

The science of photonics has already transformed many aspects of our lives. The invention of the laser in 1960 drove the first photonics-enabled revolution, with lasers now underpinning an extraordinarily diverse range of activities including surgery, communications, consumer electronics and new approaches to manufacturing. The second photonics-powered revolution was the development of world-spanning optical fibre communication networks. We are now at the beginning of the third transformational photonics revolution: the use of light to unlock the secrets inside objects as diverse as the human body, wine barrels and exploration holes deep within the earth’s crust. This talk will present recent research developments that are shaping this revolution. This body of work brings together emerging research in materials science, new nanofabrication technologies, photonics and surface science with novel approaches to sensing and measurement. This transdisciplinary approach is shifting the questions that it is possible to ask in fields including embryology and cancer treatment, and opening up opportunities for new industries.

About the speaker

Professor Tanya Monro FAA is Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation and an ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow at the University of South Australia. Tanya was the inaugural Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) from 2008 to 2014 and the inaugural Director for the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics (CNBP) at the University of Adelaide. Tanya is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE), the Optical Society of America (OSA) and the Australian Institute of Physics. She is a member of the Prime Minister’s Commonwealth Science Council (CSC), the AAS National Committee for Physics, South Australian Economic Development Board and a member of South Australia’s Riverbank Authority. She is Chair of the Council of the National Youth Science Forum (NYSF) and is also an inaugural Bragg Fellow of the Royal Institution of Australia (RiAus). In 2015 Tanya won the Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research, in 2014 awarded the Beattie Steel Medal of the Australian Optical Society and in 2012 the Australian Academy of Sciences’ Pawsey Medal. In 2011 Tanya was named South Australia’s “Australian of the Year” and the Scopus Young Researcher of the Year. In 2010 she became South Australian Scientist of the Year and Telstra Business Women of the Year (in the Community & Government category). In 2008 she won the Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year. Tanya obtained her PhD in physics in 1998 from The University of Sydney, for which she was awarded the Bragg Gold Medal for the best Physics PhD in Australia. In 2000, she received a Royal Society University Research Fellowship at the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton in the UK. 

More info


Australian Academy of Science Event Manager

Telephone: (02) 6201 9462