CMBE gender equity seminar: challenging the culture in science

Date & time: 11pm 30 August – 12am 31 August 2016, AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time)
Location: The Finkel Lecture Theatre in the John Curtin School for Medical Research (JCSMR) Building
Speakers: Professor Frances Separovic

Much has been written about women in science, the ‘glass ceiling’ and the ‘leaking pipeline’. We know that women in science face persistent challenges and increasingly institutions and professional societies are taking steps to promote the visibility of women. Gender equity continues to make headlines. Unconscious bias and a culture of exclusion have led many women to become disillusioned and ultimately leave science and academia. Professor Separovic will give a personal account of how she navigated a career in a male dominated field, the set backs and the rewards, and why the culture of science needs to be less challenging and more inclusive. 

More about the speaker

Frances Separovic is a Professor of Chemistry and group leader at the Bio21 Institute, University of Melbourne (university profile information). Frances completed a BA at Macquarie University and a PhD at University of New South Wales while working at CSIRO, Sydney. Following a post-doctoral fellowship at National Institutes of Health (USA), Frances joined the University of Melbourne in 1996. Her lab specializes in membrane biophysics and biological solid-state NMR with a focus on peptide antibiotics and toxins. Frances has served as Head of School, Associate Dean of the Science Faculty and in senior roles of professional societies, including General Treasurer of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute, Secretary of the Biophysical Society (USA), Council of International Union of Pure & Applied Biophysics (IUPAB), President of Australian Society for Biophysics (ASB), and President of Australian New Zealand Society for Magnetic Resonance (ANZMAG). She is an editorial board member of several international journals and has organized 40 major scientific conferences and published over 200 journal papers. Frances was awarded the ASB Robertson Medal (2009), the ANZMAG Medal (2011) and elected Fellow of the Biophysical Society (USA), ISMAR Fellow, and Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 2012.

Additional resouces

The accidential Head of School article (by Florienne Loder), Bio21 Molecular Science and Biotechnology Institute, Separovic Group at Bio21


Julia Sharwood

Telephone: 6125 6029